Designer Hospital Gowns?

26 Jul

When I was in my final month of pregnancy I had a friend tell me about her hospital gown that she had bought.  It sounded a little silly at first, but I started researching them a bit and decided to get one.  I didn’t wear it for the actual birth but I changed it to it afterwards and ended up being so grateful to have one (okay, I confess…. I bought two).  Here are the reasons I think they are great:

1.  Mine snapped down the back, so it was just as practical as the ones at the hospital but MUCH more modest.  I hated during labor that every time I got up to go to the bathroom I was flashing my bum to someone.  Once I changed into the one I purchased, I was  much more comfortable.

2.  I used mine at home for the first 2 weeks I was home with my baby.  Mine had snaps that opened up for nursing, which was very handy for those first few weeks.  You can keep using it as a nursing nightgown as well.

3.  You can find some really cute ones.  Let’s face it…..not many of us feel very cute after giving birth…might as well do something easy to feel somewhat more attractive in those inevitable post-birth pictures.

The gowns average between $40-$60, but I was able to find mine on sale for $20.  If you don’t want to buy one, there are plenty of tutorials and patterns for making your own.  Here are a few:

Tutorial 1, tutorial 2, tutorial 3

If you’re interested in where I got mine, let me know.

Leave a Reply

