“You’re Ok” and Other Silly Things We Say to our Kids

6 Sep

I had Kinley in her exersaucer the other day while I was showering.  She started crying of course because she wanted me out of the shower playing with her.  In the beginning I was playing pick-a-boo with the shower curtain and then it turned into me saying repeatedly, “You’re okay Kinley, you’re ok.”  As the familiar phrase came out of my mouth for probably the hundredth time since she’s been born I found myself wondering how I would feel if people always said that to me when I am sad, tired, hungry or in need of attention.

scenario one:

Me (to my husband):  “I haven’t eaten in hours, I feel like I am going to pass out.”  Husband:  “You’re okay Kristina, you’re okay.”

Me (in tears to my husband): ” I’m just having a really hard day today, everything seems to be going wrong.”  Husband:  Oh stop it, you’re okay!

Me (After slicing part of my finger off while making dinner):  “OWWEEEY!!!  Ahh!  That hurt so flipping bad!”  Husband:  “You’re okay, you’re okay.”

Completely annoying, right???  Granted if my child cut herself I would not say that, but as a baby I’m sure a small bonk is about equivalent to an adult finger slicing, and a lost toy is about equivalent to a stolen wallet.

Ever since that morning I have been trying to delete that phrase from my vocabulary, but I’m realizing that I use it a lot.

Some other classic goodies I’ve heard mother’s say:  “It’s nothing to cry about!”  “No, no, NO!”  “Just a minute” (hour later..) “Just a MINUTE!!!”

What are some phrases you find yourself using over and over again?

2 Responses to ““You’re Ok” and Other Silly Things We Say to our Kids”

  1. Carrie September 7, 2012 at 5:56 AM #

    This really makes me think. I realized I use “you’re okay” more than I should, but I actually think I tell my son “IT’S okay” more. The two phrases don’t seem like they would be different, but to me they are. I want him to grow up realizing that yes life is sometimes hard, but it’s okay, we can make it through hard things and everything will be okay. Does that make any sense? To me the I am sure he doesn’t even begin to grasp that concept, but maybe it is at least a better alternative and less harsh. Maybe I am just crazy? What do you think?

    • Kristina September 19, 2012 at 10:10 PM #

      Yeah…I think the main difference is whether or not we are acknowledging how they might feel before we routinely blubber the phrase. I just seem to get in the habit of saying “You’re okay” without actually considering the reasons behind the crying.

Leave a Reply

