H&M…&M = Horror Mom Moment

11 Sep

Okay, here’s one of those posts that portrays that maybe I’m not the best mom and hopefully makes the rest of you feel like a better mom (and one that maybe my mother-in-law should just skip altogether).

My husband and I are watching our neighbors kids in a few weeks while they go to Mexico.  This neighbor (I work for her) asked me to run some errands for her the other day which consisted of picking up a daughter from school and taking her to volleyball practice, and picking up her two other kids and taking them to the Dollar Tree (and a few other errands).  Well, as I was playing “mom” with my 3 new awesome adopted children…My baby girl sat silently in the back just happy to be there for the ride (typical of her).

After running several errands in a row I ran the 2 younger kids in to the dollar store.  I came out, got in the car and realized I TOTALLY LEFT MY BABY IN THE CAR WITHOUT EVEN KNOWING IT!  I was horrified with myself.  All of a sudden all those tragic news stories started passing through my mind and I felt so sick with myself (luckily it was 5 minutes or less, it was not a hot day, and she acted like she didn’t even know we had left).  I never thought until that moment that I could be that spacey…but I just proved myself wrong.  Now I am just hoping and praying that I never do something like that again.  But how to I make sure that I won’t?

Now’s your chance to make me feel better.  Have you ever done anything like that?

Do you have any habitual reminders set in place that keep you from repeating it?

I only have one child right now, but those of you that have more than one:  How do you keep your brain intact and keep from making these kind of mistakes?

6 Responses to “H&M…&M = Horror Mom Moment”

  1. Rachel September 12, 2012 at 6:18 AM #

    I was with my niece in her car with 10 month old Chloe, we were in my nieces car so we didn’t have carseat bottom where you connect it. We had to use the seat belt to go through the bottom of the carseat…anyways we started to leave my sisters house as we took our first turn I heard noise in the back I look back and Chloe is staring back at me….who is at that moment taking a rollarcoster ride because I forgot to buckle the carseat to the seat! I was so used to the base being in the car that I didn’t register the fact that it was a different car so no base. I’ve had plenty of bad mom moments, where I question the Lord on what he was thinking making me a mom, and she is only three!! I’m sure there will be more along this journey, it’s about keeping your humor and head with you, and a constant connection with Lord that I think will get us through ‘mommyhood’ 🙂 love you cuz!

    • Kristina September 13, 2012 at 9:42 PM #

      It’s hard to remember everything when you don’t have the base!

  2. Kristina September 12, 2012 at 7:33 AM #

    Ok. I know you are not a terrible mom. You are the cutest mom ever and very responsible. Once in New York, when we had six kids and I took them all somewhere and as we were all getting back in the car and I was getting ready to back out, I noticed someone waving their hands at me and pointing to a child who was slowly walking toward the car–one of the six–(probably Colby–ha ha). Well my habit had always been that when I got in the car and turned my head to back out, I would count the kids. So I know the lady thought I was leaving a child, but really I was counting kids to make sure they were all there. Because Kinley is just so easy going, goes with the flow, never complains, it’s easier to do what you did. I had just read to put your purse, wallet, something you can’t go anywhere without by the baby seat so you don’t forget.

  3. mom September 12, 2012 at 7:37 AM #

    Sorry, that last comment was your mother in law who loves you dearly. Don’t know how to work these reply things.

    • Kristina September 13, 2012 at 9:43 PM #

      Thanks mom! Thankfully you’re amazing and I know you wouldn’t judge me, but I couldn’t help but be embarrassed when I remembered dad talking just last week about the lady that left her kids in the car @ costco. Thanks for the suggestion, that’s a good idea!

  4. Jami September 22, 2012 at 12:30 PM #

    I just laughed at this Kristina because I know Kinley probably just sat there being the best baby in the world! I am sure I’ve done things like this but have probably blocked them out of my mind. You are so far from being a horrible Mom!

Leave a Reply

