Toys that Kids Play With

29 Sep

Okay, so I have a problem (Scroll to the end to help me out as well as enter the contest).

My 10-month old has started losing interest in her baby toys and I’m realizing she doesn’t have very many toys anyway.  I would love to buy her some new ones, but I hate the thought of paying for toys that she may or may not play with.

I’ve been researching to solve my dilemma and I came across the Baby Cheapskate website.  Here they talk about how to avoid the “duds” when it comes to toys.  They also talk about tops toys for the current year here.  There is another website I love that lists all the different toys that encourage speech and language development.   If you don’t want to read through it, I have narrowed it down to this simple list:

*There is another website I love that lists all the different toys that encourage speech and language development.  Find it here.

So here’s a contest question. 

What are (or were) the toys that your kids played with most?  Please include whether it’s a favorite for boys/girls/both and what general age they love certain toys at.  This will especially be helpful for others considering it’s almost Christmas time and I’m sure I’m not the only parent wondering.  Baby Cheapskate is great for narrowing toys down for the current year but what I really want to know about is the toys that are continually popular year after year.  Especially toys that have lasted generations (Mr. Potato Head anyone?)  3 winners will be chosen (meaning you have a very good chance).

Remember this post?  The prize will be a set of 3 flash card packs for you to make into flip books or to use as they are, or you can choose one of the printable quiet books.  Not a huge prize, but hey!  This is mostly just a fun post to get all of your ideas and all you have to do is answer a question.  Easy!  Winners will be drawn at random.  Contest ends November 15th.

Thanks in Advance!

8 Responses to “Toys that Kids Play With”

  1. jami November 5, 2012 at 10:36 PM #

    Wooden blocks with letters & numbers have always been a hit. Playdoh never gets old. The little people farm has also been a great one. The marble run is a great one for older kids.

  2. Andrea Weston November 11, 2012 at 2:13 PM #

    My kids (aged 2 & 4) always come back to the number/letter blocks, play dough, puzzles, Mr. Potato Heads, and dress ups! I love these things because they (usually) last for a long time and kids from different ages can enjoy them. Also, they get to use their imaginations which I love! 🙂

  3. Kristy Conklin November 13, 2012 at 5:34 AM #

    My 2 yr old son plays with cars, blocks, and balls right now. His favorite quiet time activity is games on an old iphone.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Printable Quiet Book « Mother's Niche - October 1, 2012

    […] UPDATE!  This contest is going again for 3 more winners!  Ends Nov 1st.  You can also win one by commenting on this post. […]

  2. Fun and Meaningful Christmas Traditions « Mother's Niche - October 15, 2012

    […] by sharing what toys have been the biggest hit over the years. Share your thoughts on my post here Share this:TwitterFacebookPinterestLike this:LikeBe the first to like […]

  3. Toy Rotation: Saving Time, Money and Simplifying your Life « Mother's Niche - October 23, 2012

    […] a lot about how I want to do toys for the rest of our children because not only do I want to get toys that they will actually play with, I want to have a good system in place before we add more children to the picture.  I’ve […]

  4. Busy Bag Madness! « Mother's Niche - November 16, 2012

    […] you know your kid best…buy things they will actually be interested in.  Second, I try to make busy bags out of things that have more than one use…so usually […]

Leave a Reply

